Museums * Plantations * Heritage
From the settlers who first came to Tennessee, to the beginning residents who put down roots as farmers and politicians in our great state as it developed westward, Tennessee has a rich history which starts in the early 1800's, through the Civil War, and on through, all of which shaped the destiny of our great state. Did you know there was an Elephant Sanctuary? Or a museum just for children or a hands-on museum? How about flight simulators and wind tunnels at Arnold Air Force Base, open to the public? Did you know there were Amish who migrated to Tennessee? There are historic markers scattered throughout our part of Tennessee also, just waiting for you to discover them. Imagine having your wedding or special event at one of these amazing plantations.
- ARNOLD ENGINEERING DEVELOPMENT COMPLEX - Arnold Air Force Base near Tullahoma, TN Huge wind tunnels simulate flight for satelites, supersonic and transonic aircraft & spacecraft. Group tours welcome. 931-454-5655.
- ARROWHEADS & AEROSPACE MUSEUM – 24 Campground Rd., Manchester. Chartered in 1987 to showcase history of Coffee Co. & area.
- THE ATHENAEUM RECTORY – 808 Athenaeum St.,Columbia. Tours: Feb.-3rd week in Dec.; Tues.-Sat., 10AM-4PM; Sun., 1-4PM. Admission charged. (931) 381-4822.
- BATTLE OF FARMINGTON CIVIL WAR SITE – 2236 Hwy. 64, Lewisburg. Site served as the only military action of any consequence in Marshall Co. in 1863. Monument erected in 1874 to commemorate buried soldiers.
- BEECHCRAFT HERITAGE MUSEUM – 570 Old Shelbyville Hwy., Tullahoma.
“Living & working” museum traces the lineage of the Beechcraft family ofairplanes. The 60,000-sq.-ft. site houses 24 aircraft, aviation artifacts & memorabilia. Open March-Nov. (931) 455-1974.
- CEDAR GROVE IRON FURNACE – South of Hwy. 412 W., Linden. Last remaining double-stack iron furnace on the Western Highland Rim. It was shelled by Union troops in the Civil War. Directions: www.perrycountytennessee.com.
- CHICKASAW TRACE PARK – Santa Fe Pk., Columbia. Wilderness hiking trails wind around the Duck River bottomlands. (931) 375-6103. Mountain Bike (MTB) and hiking trail. www.columbiacyclingclub.com/mtb_park.asp.
- COLLINWOOD TRAIN DEPOT – 101 E. Depot St., Collinwood. On National Historic Register. See art & memorabilia; public library www.cityofcollinwood.org.
COLUMBIA CHILDREN’S MUSEUM – 123 W. 7th St.,Columbia. Open Mon.,Tues.,Thur. & Fri. 10AM-2PM. Sat. 9AM-4PM. (931) 223-6337. www.amuseumcolumbia.org
- COWAN RAILROAD MUSEUM – 108 Front St., Cowan. The railroad has been an
integral part of Cowan since 1849 when a tunnel was bored through themountain 2 miles southeast of town. Open May-Oct.; Thur.-Sat., 10AM-4PM;
Sun., 1-4PM. (931) 967-3078. www.cowanrailroadmuseum.com
- DAVID CROCKETT MONUMENT – Lawrenceburg Sq. Life-size bronze statue of
Lawrence Co.’s famous son: frontiersman, soldier, legislator & hero of the Alamo.
- THE ELEPHANT SANCTUARY WELCOME CENTER – Downtown Hohenwald. This learning center has educational exhibits & gift shop. (931) 796-6500. www.elephants.com
- ELM SPRINGS HOME – 740 Mooresville Pk., Columbia. http://elmsprings.scv.org Tues.-Fri., 9AM-5PM. Admission charged; group rates available. (931) 380-1844. Weddings and Events.
- FALLS MILL & COUNTRY STORE – 134 Falls Mill Rd.,
Belvidere. On National Historic Register. Water-powered grain mill est. 1873, museum & country store. Open dailyexcept Wed. (931) 469-7161. www.fallsmill.com
GILES CO. COURTHOUSE – Pulaski Sq. 1909 Neoclassicalbuilding featuring Corinthian columns, solid brass door
pulls incised “Giles,” inside balcony encircling 3rd floor, caryatids (female faces) holding up arched vault of rotundawith skylight. Free. Mon.-Fri., 8AM-4PM. (931) 363-5300. http://www.gilescounty-tn.us
GORDON HOUSE – located on the Natchez Trace Parkway, it was built 1817-1818 by Capt. John Gordon, a prominent early settler. His acclaim as a fearless
fighter and spy was acknowledged from Nashville to Natchez. http://www.tnvacation.com/vendors/the_gordon_house
- GRINDER’S SWITCH MUSEUM – 405 West Public Square, Centerville. Houses the Grinder’s Switch Museum dedicated to preserving the life and times of
Minnie Pearl along with memorabilia of Del Reeves, Blake Shelton & BethSlater Whitson. Home to the Grinder’s Switch Radio Hour. (931) 729-5774. http://www.hickmancountychamber.org
HANDS ON SCIENCE CENTER – 101 Mitchell Blvd., Tullahoma. Indoor scienceplayground where “Please Touch” is the rule! Over 80 hands-on exhibits.
Tues.-Sat., 10AM-5PM; Sun., 1-5PM. (931) 455-8387. www.hosc.org
- HISTORIC DOWNTOWN FAYETTEVILLE & WALKING TOURS – Fayetteville. See
beautiful grand mansions, B&Bs & historic homes like the old Goodrich Houseat S. Elk Ave. & Maple St.; more on Mulberry Ave. & Washington St.
- HOHENWALD DEPOT – 112 E. Main St., Hohenwald. Railroad enthusiasts will enjoy the original 1896 N.C. & St.L. depot. Open only during special events; interior exhibits are visible from the outside. Contact the Hohenwald-Lewis County Chamber of Commerce.
JAMES D. VAUGHAN SOUTHERN GOSPEL MUSIC MUSEUM – 25 Public Sq., Lawrenceburg. Celebrate the birthplace of southern gospel music.
(800) 547-6500. www.mainstreetlawrenceburg.com
- JUBILEE HILLS 1560 Cornersville Road, Lewisburg, TN 931-652-7075 Classic elegance, gracious hospitality and complete serenity. Wedding or Special Event this 100 acre estate venue provides the perfect backdrop for your event. www.jubileehillsestate.com
- LAIRDLAND FARM HOUSE & CIVIL WAR MUSEUM – 3238 Blackburn Hollow Rd.,
Cornersville. View historic home & Civil War artifacts by appointment only.Reserve for luncheons, teas, weddings & receptions. (931) 363-2205.
LEWIS CO. MUSEUM & DISCOVERY CENTER – 108 E. Main, Hohenwald. Exotic
animal mounts from around the globe & historic artifacts from Lewis Co. Tues.-Sat., 10AM-4PM. Admission charged. (931) 796-1550. http://hohenwaldlewischamber.com
LINCOLN CO. MUSEUM – 521 Main Ave. S., Fayetteville. Former Borden MilkPlant renovated to showcase history of the area including exhibits on Native
American artifacts & fossils, Lincoln Co. Fair harness racing, agriculture & theevolution of farming, space & missiles. http://www.flcmuseum.com
LINDEN-PERRY CO. COURTHOUSE – Linden. On National Historic Register.Constructed from 1928-29; a classic example of early 20th-century public
architecture with an unusual 2nd-story public gallery. http://perrycountytennessee.com
LYNNVILLE RAILROAD MUSEUM – 162 Mill St.,
Lynnville. Visit depot replica; see memorabilia, scalemodel trains, trackside “static” display of 1927
Baldwin steam locomotive, a Pullman passengercoach, flatcar & caboose. (931) 527-3158.
MARSHALL CO. HISTORICAL MUSEUM – Hardison Annex, Lewisburg. Est. 1996 by Marshall Co. Historical Society to showcase primitive tools, handmade
furniture, World War I & II memorabilia, vintage clothing & more. Free.
MATT GARDNER HOMESTEAD MUSEUM – 110 Dixon Town Rd., Elkton.
(931) 309-9695. www.mattgardnerhomestead.org.
MAURY CO. ARCHIVES – E. 6th St., Columbia. One of TN’s only county archives
to have records dating back to its 1808 founding. Search genealogy records forfamilies in Maury Co., surrounding areas & TN. (931) 375-1501.
MERIWETHER LEWIS GRAVE, NATIONAL MONUMENT & NATIONAL PARK – On theNatchez Trace Pkwy, Lewis Co. The leader of the Lewis & Clark Expedition is
buried here where he died mysteriously in 1809. The National Park Servicemaintains the site & exhibits, picnicking & camping areas, & hiking trails.& NATIONALLLLLL
- MERIWETHER LEWIS GRAVE, NATIONAL MONUMENT & NATIONAL PARK - On the Natchez Trace Parkway, Lewis County. The leader of the Lewis & Clark Expedition is buried here where he died mysteriously in 1809. The National Park Service maintains the site & exhibits, picnicking & camping areas & hiking trails.
MILKY WAY FARM & MANSION – 520 Milky Way Rd., Pulaski. Founded byFrank Mars, the inventor of the Milky Way Bar. The 1,100 acres of beautiful
rolling hills include the manor house with 21 bedrooms & 15 bathrooms, outdoor horse track & horse barns. Great for weddings & events. (615) 974-5084. www.milkywayfarm.org
Tues.-Sat., 11AM-3PM. (931) 993-1791. www.lynchburgtn.com.
farm implements & more. 4 special exhibits yearly. (931) 379-9511.
The National Scenic Byway & Parkway runs 444 miles from Nashville toNatchez, MS, with numerous picnic areas, historic sites, walking trails & more. (931) 724-4347. www.waynecountychamber.org., www.cityofcollinwood.org.
NATHAN BEDFORD FORREST BOYHOOD HOME – 4435 Pyles Rd., Chapel Hill. (615) 833-8977. www.elmspringscsa.com.
used 1817-1883, contains graves of early settlers; rededicated in 1969. Openall year. Free. (931) 363-3789.
OLD JAIL MUSEUM – 400 Dinah Shore Blvd., Winchester. Where it’s fun…to goto jail! See an old cell, loom & spinning wheel, Native American artifacts, Civil
War uniforms, cannon, handcuffs & leg irons, & Winchesternative Dinah Shore mementos. Open mid-March-mid-Nov.,
PRESIDENTIAL HALL – 301-305 W. 7th St., Columbia. OpenApril-Oct., Mon.-Sat., 9AM-5PM; Nov.-Mar., 9AM-4PM; Sun.,
1-5PM. Admission charged, call for group rates. (931) 388-2354. www.jameskpolk.com.
PULASKI HISTORIC SQUARE – Public Sq. & 1st St., Pulaski. A National HistoricDistrict. 18th- & 19th-century architecture is declared by TN Historical
Commission to be one of the finest squares in Middle TN. (931) 363-3789.
5PM; Sun., 1-5PM. Last tour begins at 4PM. Winter hours: Dec. 15-March, Mon.-Sat., 10AM-4PM. Admission charged. (931) 486-9037 Great place to have your wedding. www.rippavilla.org NOTE: Winter hours - January, February and March: Closed on Monday; Tuesday-Saturday: 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.; Sunday: 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Last tour offered at 3:00 p.m. each day.
SAINT JOHN’S CHURCH – Hwy. 243, Mount Pleasant.On National Historic Register. Graveyard holds slaves
& masters, Civil War privates & generals, the Episcopal faithful & their Bishops.
United Daughters of the Confederacy; unveiled in 1906 during the state reunionof Confederate veterans.
- SAM DAVIS MUSEUM – 134 Sam Davis Ave., Pulaski. Site where “the boy hero
of the Confederacy” was hanged. The tiny museum, built in 1950, holds 145items relating to his life & legacy. Open 3rd Sat. of every month (except
holidays), 1:30-4:30PM. Tours by appointment. (931) 486-2591
TN MUSEUM OF EARLY FARM LIFE – US Hwy. 31., Spring Hill. Behind RippavillaPlantation. More than 500 items on display. Open April-Oct., Fri. & Sat., 9AM-
3:30PM. Admission charged. (931) 486-9037
- TN WALKING HORSE BREEDERS’ & EXHIBITORS’ ASSOCIATION – 250 N. Ellington
Pkwy., Lewisburg. World headquarters for the TWH industry. Garden, gift shop,& literature available. (931) 359-1574. www.twhbea.com . See ad.
TRAIL OF TEARS INTERPRETIVE CENTER – 220 Stadium St. Pulaski. Cherokeefamily statue and an overlook of a site where the Trail route crossed Richland
Creek tell the story of the Indian Removal Act of 1838-1839. and how the Belland Benge routes intersect in Giles County. (931) 424-4044.